Let’s get acquainted! | New Quilt Blogger Blog Hop

Hi! Welcome to my little corner of the internet where I talk about quilting, fabric and occasionally baking. I’m Elizabeth!

2014-05-22 07.56.01-2I am thrilled to be participating in the 2014 New Quilt Blogger Blog Hop that Beth from Plum and June is putting on during June and July. Last week was the first round of posts and there were some beautiful quilts, it makes me a little nervous about posting this week!

Lately my motto has been “Keep Calm and Carry On”. Right now I am living and stitching in Philadelphia but will be relocating to the southern Baltimore suburbs later this summer. (I guess that makes it real now that I’ve typed it out loud!) It’s an exciting, but crazy time around here and my quilting projects have been limited to small ones that can be cleaned up at the end of a work session.

ColorStudyAquaCat_Front_webRight now Color Study: Aqua and my Cat Quilt are my two favorite quilts, wall hangings actually. My favorites change on a regular basis. (Don’t yours?)

2013MomDadQuilt_web

The Beast is a close runner up. You can see all of my quilts and projects here, I’ll let you decide which are your favorites.

As part of the New Quilt Blogger Blog Hop here is a bit about me:

I’ve been quilting since August of 2012 when my mom walked me though my first quilting project, a quilt for my nephew’s first Christmas. I did not do much until January 2013 when I solo pieced my first top and finally finished it in July, at that point I had officially been bit by the quilting bug and I have not looked back!

Blogging Tip: Use big photos!
Quilting Tip: Keep your seam ripper close and a bottle of wine in the fridge, it’s only fabric. If you screw up, rip it out and after the third or forth re-do, walk way for a few hours and have a glass of wine.
Dream Vacation Spot: Naples, Italy – it is where I was born and really want to go explore.
Favorite Book: The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch – if you do not want to read it, his actual lecture is here.
Favorite Movie: Top Gun (and my husband is now cringing)!
Random Fun Fact: My Philadelphia house is my 14th residence making our next place my 15th! Oh, the life of a Navy brat.

A Question for You: How you decide how to quilt your quilt? I struggle with that so much (though tackling my fear of free motion quilting would probably help). Do you sketch, have a plan before you piece, tell me?

Enough about me! Go check out the rest of the amazing quilters that I get to share the blog hop with:

Carole @ Fresh Off The Frame
Camelia @ Camelia Elliott
Nurdan @ Hug a Bit Quilts
Paula @ Mud Pies and Pins
Lori @ Sew Psychd
Kitty @ Night Quilter
Christina @ Wips and Tuts
Diana @ Sew Crafty Chick
Marcia @ Cozy Capatiller
Judy @ Quilt Paradigm
Jasmine @ Quilt Kisses
Beth @ Cooking Up Quilts

5129e-2014button3

 

 

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

51 thoughts on “Let’s get acquainted! | New Quilt Blogger Blog Hop

  1. […] Elizabeth @ And Pins […]

Let me know what you think, I love hearing from my readers! I reply to all comments by email (except on popular giveaway posts).