Final Finish of 2013: The Beast

This 60×80″ quilt, affectionally known as the beast, was my last finish of 2013 as a gift my parents. It is also my largest quilt to date.

2013MomDadQuilt_web

I completed it less than 24 hours before we left for KY to spend Christmas at my parents house. I cannot tell you how elated I was to have it finished! I started it Thanksgiving weekend and worked steadily on it until December 21st. The pattern is Sassy Frass by Sweet Jane. I started enlarging the pattern by beginning with 6″ squares to better show of the fabric and it grew from there.

I used Waterfront fabric in the Breeze palette for the blocks and my favorite Platinum Quilter’s Linen for the background. It is backed in navy Kona with a strip of the white bridges running through the center and finished with a scrappy binding featuring the fabric from the center blocks. The center blocks are quilted in navy Aurifil in a wavy pattern and the gray runs are straight line quilted in gray Aurifil.

2013MomDadQuilt_detail_web

For the center block quilting, I hand tied off each set of threads at the top and bottom of each line. I wasn’t sure if the backstitching on my machine would lock in the threads enough.

I’m wondering, do you backstitch on open blocks or do you tie off individually?

Tagged: , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Final Finish of 2013: The Beast

  1. Blocks & Swaps | andpins December 19, 2014 at 7:57 am Reply

    […] project that I have made to date and I love knowing that. She has pieces of my favorite scarf, my mom’s quilt, my grandmother’s quilt, pieces of fabric from both of my nephew’s quilts, […]

  2. WIP Wednesday: The Holiday Rush | andpins November 5, 2014 at 8:18 am Reply

    […] handmade projects in mind, but I am not going to attempt to churn out three quilts (remember the Beast, Plus, and Cats?). It was not good for my sanity! I am in the middle of working on my […]

  3. Sarah June 11, 2014 at 12:59 pm Reply

    I cannot believe you had the patience to tie off that many threads. I just started tying off threads. It’s not so bad. I think for your quilt, I would have quilted a way line to the ditch, stitched in the ditch for a few stitches, then turned the quilt and made a wavy line to the other end of the block. I guess its a trade-off between frequent tying or frequent turning.

  4. […] The Beast is a close runner up. You can see all of my quilts and projects here, I’ll let you decide which are your favorites. […]

  5. Violet Craft March 6, 2014 at 1:17 pm Reply

    Gorgeous quilt! I love that platinum background. 🙂

    • andpins March 6, 2014 at 1:30 pm Reply

      Thank you!! I am, now, a huge fan of the quilt. I can’t wait to figure out what to do with the rest of the fabric.

  6. Joanna February 21, 2014 at 10:18 pm Reply

    Oh wow, this looks really gorgeous! What a great pattern to show off the fabrics too!

    • andpins February 21, 2014 at 10:19 pm Reply

      Thank you Joanna! I enlarged the pattern a bit when I received the fabrics. I really wanted to show them off.

Let me know what you think, I love hearing from my readers! I reply to all comments by email (except on popular giveaway posts).

