Color Study: Aqua | Blogger’s Quilt Festival

Color Study: Aqua is a modern quilt with traditional roots.

ColorStudyAqua

If you are here for the first time, perhaps from the Blogger’s Quilt Festival, welcome! Feel free to stay and look around. This is my entry for the modern quilt category.

I just completed a four week class with the New York Beauty quilt pattern with the lovely Sarah Bond. We played with points and flying geese, curves and shoulders, and it was amazing. The blocks were completely outside of my skill set. It was the first time I had played with geese and pieced a curve – I learned so much!

This piece measures 23.5″ square and now lives in my office. I am so happy with how it turned out, even with its imperfections. The movement that the color gradient and the geese create is stunning (if I do say so myself). I used six Kona cottons: Bahama Blue, Capri, Lagoon, Oasis, Cyan, and Glacier along with Quilter’s Linen in Platinum and Charcoal.

This quilt has inspired me to begin a series of color studies – most likely minis – using solids (and maybe a print or two) from a set tonal range.

I wanted to give Amy from Amy’s Creative Side a huge shout out for organizing the Blogger’s Quilt Festival. Thank you, Amy!

Quilt Details

Title: Color Study: Aqua
Pattern:
 Flying geese arcs from New York Beauty by Sarah Bond
Front: Kona aqua solids: bahama blue, capri, lagoon, oasis, cyan, and glacier along with Quilter’s Linen in platinum and charcoal.
Back: Pearl Bracelets, gold on yellow by Lizzy House
Binding: an aqua hexi print from my stash
Quilting: Aurifil 40WT #2600 (a pale gray)
Finished size: 23.5″

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

15 thoughts on “Color Study: Aqua | Blogger’s Quilt Festival

  1. 13/303 Konas! | andpins August 17, 2015 at 8:02 am Reply

    […] bloggers to put together custom bundles of 12-15 colors. I jumped on the chance to do another color study; this time in blues. My bundle includes White, Sky, Lake, Niagara, Algeria, Water, Malibu, […]

  2. MMXV + a Thank YOU giveaway | andpins December 31, 2014 at 4:15 pm Reply

    […] kicked 2013’s butt in that aspect. While I never did get our bed quilt made I did get a few minis done, I learned to paper piece (and love it!), and completed a bunch more projects – 25 if […]

  3. […] now Color Study: Aqua and my Cat Quilt are my two favorite quilts, wall hangings actually. My favorites change on a […]

  4. wendy June 6, 2014 at 2:43 pm Reply

    just gorgeous. I love circle of geese and you’ve done a fab job here. My favourite colours too!

  5. DeborahGun May 25, 2014 at 10:23 pm Reply

    love this one!

  6. Hannlib May 24, 2014 at 4:58 pm Reply

    I love this. Really neat.

  7. citricsugar May 24, 2014 at 11:33 am Reply

    What a great colour study! Those blues together are very dynamic.

  8. […] and it is wonderful to see all of the beautiful entries that have been submitted this year. My Color Study: Aqua piece is in the Modern Quilts Category if you would like to take a minute to vote. Be sure to stop […]

  9. Cheryl May 24, 2014 at 7:12 am Reply

    I really like this quilt. The colors and the quilting are a wonderful twist on a classic design.

  10. paintedthread May 23, 2014 at 8:54 am Reply

    I really like the color and the design. Pretty quilt.

  11. Nini~ May 23, 2014 at 8:27 am Reply

    I am a fan of flying geese, I love how yours are never ending! I’m inspired! Thanx!

    Nini~
    niniandthesea.blogspot.com

  12. Jeifner May 22, 2014 at 12:56 am Reply

    This is beautiful! Love the colors/shades and design.

  13. cloudcoucou May 21, 2014 at 2:30 pm Reply

    Gorgeous! I love those colours myself. Very impressed with the curved geese, not something I’ve tried yet 🙂

  14. thatssewcreative May 21, 2014 at 2:08 pm Reply

    I love the colors. It’s very pretty. Good luck in the bqf.

  15. made by ChrissieD May 21, 2014 at 11:50 am Reply

    Dropping by from BQF – enjoying how the blues pop against the black and white, and don’t you just love flying geese?! 😀

Let me know what you think, I love hearing from my readers! I reply to all comments by email (except on popular giveaway posts).

