Happy Birthday, Mom!

A huge Happy Birthday to my Mom today! She is my inspiration, source of advice, and my biggest cheerleader. She made my halloween costumes, prom dresses, and even offered to make my wedding dress! I grew up in a household where creativity was encouraged and even though I did not have any interest in sewing until my thirties, she fostered my photography and helped with college design projects.

JFront_rev

Since I will not top last year’s surprise doorstep arrival, I went with what I knew, a quilted wall hanging and to stretch my skills a bit, a wide open zipper pouch.

JBack_rev

The J is from the Spell it with Fabric blog hop that Moda did earlier this year and the wide open zipper pouch is a pattern from Noodlehead.

ZipperPouch

ZipperPouchOpen

Happy Birthday, Mom! I hope that you have a fantastic day.

Quilt Details

Title: J
Pattern:
 J Pattern from Moda
Front: J – Waterfront Park Flight in Navy by Violet Craft, red and white dot from my stash
Back: Widescreen in blue by Carolyn Friedlander
Binding: various fabrics from the Waterfront Park Collection
Quilting: Aurifil 40WT #2600 (a pale gray)
Finished size: 12×14″

Pouch Details

Pattern: Small Wide Open Zipper Pouch by Noodlehead
Top: red and magenta patterned fabric from my stash
Bottom: black yarn dyed Essex Linen from Robert Kaufman

Tagged: , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Mom!

  1. Dahlia – Branching Out | andpins November 13, 2014 at 7:53 am Reply

    […] you asked me to describe myself, I would tell you that I am a quilter. Yes, I make a bag here and a scarf there, but quilting is my true love. I have always admired the sewists on […]

  2. leighlaurelstudios June 13, 2014 at 6:11 pm Reply

    Happy Birthday to your Mom! Both projects are lovely. 🙂

  3. […] loud!) It’s an exciting, but crazy time around here and my quilting projects have been limited to small ones that can be cleaned up at the end of a work […]

  4. jdeming73 June 3, 2014 at 9:03 am Reply

    I love my gifts the new pouch is in my bag.

  5. quiltingjetgirl May 30, 2014 at 10:21 am Reply

    Happy birthday to your mom as well. I hope she enjoys her lovely gifts!

  6. ann May 30, 2014 at 10:02 am Reply

    I’m so sure your Mom is bursting

  7. lovelydeer May 30, 2014 at 8:13 am Reply

    Beautiful gifts!

Let me know what you think, I love hearing from my readers! I reply to all comments by email (except on popular giveaway posts).

