Firsts!

Exciting things are happening this week, I joined my first bee – The Modern Insta Bee – that has been spreading like wildfire over on Instagram. I am a proud member of Hive 13.

The Bee was started by @brazenlisa on Instagram and has over 156 quilters participating. We will each be picking our favorite block from the Modern Bee by Lindsay Conner and once a month for a year we will make a block for that month’s “Queen Bee”. I am anxiously awaiting the arrival of my book and am dreaming of color palettes!

2014-02-11 10.44.49

If you are interested in seeing if there are other Hives with spots, checkout out #moderninstabee2014 on Instagram.

Another first, my first finish of 2014! I started the year off easy with a small project, a throw pillow for the Philly MQG secret santa exchange that took place in January. My recipient told me that she needed throw pillows and that she liked teal, pink and orange.

SpoolPillow_Front

I love the Spool Minis from Thimble Blossoms and I had the perfect fabrics in my stash in her color range. Bonus, she loved it!

SpoolPillow_Back

The best part about the Philly MQG secret santa exchange is witnessing the creativity and thoughtfulness of our members. There were so many beautiful things gifted!

Stay tuned tomorrow for a second, bonus post, with the introduction of Betsy!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Firsts!

  1. […] the New Quilt Blogger Blog Hop is begun means that May has come to a close. Whew, I finished my May Modern Insta Bee block right under the wire – it was completed May 29th and mailed on the 30th! May […]

  2. April’s Bee Block | andpins May 8, 2014 at 7:59 am Reply

    […] month behind us means that I have another Modern InstaBee block to show you! April’s block was Cordelia’s Garden made with lime, orange, purple […]

  3. […] am happily getting into the swing of the Modern InstaBee. I could not have asked to be paired with a better group of women in Hive 13. We are active both on […]

  4. barbara woods February 12, 2014 at 5:14 pm Reply

    love that pillow

Let me know what you think, I love hearing from my readers! I reply to all comments by email (except on popular giveaway posts).

