Bee Blocks, an Awesome Shop + Giveaway

Giveaway Winner is announced below!

I am happily getting into the swing of the Modern InstaBee. I could not have asked to be paired with a better group of women in Hive 13. We are active both on Instagram and in our private Facebook group and it has been wonderful getting to know everyone. (Sidenote: a Facebook group is awesome for the bee since we can post photos and set up events for each Queen Bee’s month!) Since we kicked off our bee in the middle of February, we decided to double up March and September so that we can finish up in the calendar year.

My two March Blocks:

ETimmons_FebBlock_web

Stacked Windmills with gray, fuchsia and purple.

ETimmons_MarchBlock_web

A Bluebell’s Cabin in jewel toned prints and solids.

My month is July and I have selected the Come Together block, a twelve block quilt, so it will be ready to finish when they all arrive. I have not stopped thinking about color palettes since I scored a place in Hive 13. I decided on blues, bright greens, gray, and white with a pop of yellow. To help calm my brain and provide some continuity for the quilt, I decided that I will be sending all of my bee members the gray and the yellow. The hardest part was determining what gray to go with, enter Cuts of Cotton!

Cuts of Cotton was introduced to me by Amy of Diary of a Quilter and I was sold by Emily’s fantastic customer service. I emailed her one evening and asked:

“I am looking for a gray solid with texture/depth. With Modern Solids II Metal VS Quilter’s Linen Gray how blueish is the Metal? It appears to be very cool toned, how does it look in person. I am looking to go pretty neutral. Thank you!”

She quickly responded with an offer to send me swatches. Swatches!! Perfect, it is like having the fabric store come to me – without all of the extra things that always manage to sneak into my bag!

CutsofCutton_Swatches

I ended up selecting Gray Quilter’s Linen (as well as some white text Sun Print, vanilla Oval Elements, and noir Squared Elements) because I liked the texture but I fell in love with the look of the Modern Solids II. I ordered a full set of the Modern Solids II collection (20 vibrant colors!) and cannot wait to decide what project I will use them in. I have been thinking about doing a solids only project and these will be perfect!

ModernSolidsII_Wheel

Emily has graciously agreed to do a giveaway of her Modern Solids II Warm Bundle in honor of spring and is offering a 10% discount to Cuts of Cotton! Use discount code: andpins10 for 10% off you entire order until April 12th.

Modern Solids II Warm Colors FQB – a palette that reminds me of summer sunsets

All you have to do for a chance (or three) to win the FQB is to is use the Rafflecopter link below and tell me your favorite bundle from Cuts of Cotton’s shop. Today, mine is the Black and White Bundle, but it changes frequently. There are two, bonus entries there as well.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

The giveaway will close on Tuesday, April 8th at 8pm EST and I will announce the winner Wednesday morning.

I am happy to announce that Angelia L. is the winner of the Modern Solids II Warm Colors FQB. Angelia said, “I really love the Black and White bundle too! The Modern Solids blue and grey bundle is also wonderful!” Congratulations Angelia and a great bundle choice! Look for an email from me.

Emily is happy to announce that she will soon be offering swatch books of all of the compete lines she carries – Modern Solids II would be included! I, personally, cannot wait for a full set of swatches. If you have any color questions in the mean time, contact her and she will be happy to answer you quickly and provide swatches.

After much deliberation, here is my final palette for my Modern InstaBee blocks:

TimmonsHive13_blog

Thanks for stopping by and for checking out Cuts of Cotton, I look forward seeing you again soon!

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

101 thoughts on “Bee Blocks, an Awesome Shop + Giveaway

  1. July’s Bee Block | andpins July 30, 2014 at 8:05 am Reply

    […] will have to wait until next month to see how we revisit Stacked Windmills in a completely different color […]

Let me know what you think, I love hearing from my readers! I reply to all comments by email (except on popular giveaway posts).

