Introducing Betsy!

I’m in love and I think my Bernina has noticed! Meet Betsy, my beautiful celery green Singer Featherweight. She was born in 1964.

Singer

I have been dreaming of a Featherweight for almost a year and my wonderful MIL and family gifted me one for Christmas. I have been getting to know her over the last two weeks while my Bernina is in the shop for a tune up.

Betsy needed a bag since the handle on her original train case is missing, so I set out to make her one. I found Crafty Hipster’s tutorial and modified it to suit my needs. I used her to make it and I was impressed that she handled the layers and layers of fabric with no trouble.

Featherweight Bag2_web

I changed the handles, added exterior pockets and lined the exterior and interior fabrics with heavy interfacing. Additionally, I added flaps with magnets to keep the dust off of her.

Featherweight Bag_Web

My featherweight sews beautifully and I am happy to have a second machine to take to sewing days and retreats. It’s also a bonus to not have to constantly rethread the Bernina to use a different color thread!

Tagged: , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Introducing Betsy!

  1. An End Equals a New Beginning | andpins August 13, 2014 at 7:47 am Reply

    […] my featherweight is in Maryland awaiting my arrival, I am frantically working on a last minute project, and I am […]

  2. Material Girl Quilts July 2, 2014 at 12:58 pm Reply

    Oh I love Betsy!! She’s so cute! The celery machines are adorable, but I haven’t seen one around here..so I went for black. I also have a Bernina and hope she doesn’t get too jealous either πŸ˜‰

  3. Carrie Maria February 16, 2014 at 11:02 am Reply

    She is soooooooo pretty! And I love the bag you made for her. πŸ™‚

  4. Ann February 14, 2014 at 2:48 pm Reply

    I love Betsy, her bag suits her well and I know it will keep her warm and cozy and very willing to work for you. So glad she makes you happy–Ann

  5. Kristin S. February 14, 2014 at 12:13 pm Reply

    Awesome! (Whenever I can, I us my mom’s featherweight. They are so great!)

  6. Melissa Miller February 14, 2014 at 10:00 am Reply

    Hello, Betsy! You’re a beauty. I have a 1950 White Rotary 77 sewing machine. For $20 I got the machine, cabinet, owners manual, purchase certificate, accessories and other notions that were in the cabinet drawers. His name is Walter and he works, too. When I am able to squeeze in the time, Walt and I need to get to know each other.

    PS — Thanks for putting my giveaway roundup button on your blog!

  7. Jeifner February 14, 2014 at 2:15 am Reply

    I totally have a crush on your machine

  8. Barbara Dillard Smith Woods February 13, 2014 at 6:09 pm Reply

    Are you feeling better?

  9. Terry February 13, 2014 at 6:05 pm Reply

    Betsy is so pretty and I love the tote you made for her!!! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

Let me know what you think, I love hearing from my readers! I reply to all comments by email (except on popular giveaway posts).

