A Baby Quilt

BellaFabrics

Remember those? They became a baby quilt for one of my dearest friends. She is expecting her first baby, a girl!, in December. I was happy to be able to attend her baby shower on Saturday and gift it to her in person.

BQuilt_rolled

BQuilt_Front

I used some poppy and teal fabrics from the Bella collection by Lotta Jansdotter, platinum Quilter’s Linen and white for the front. The pattern is Happy Baby Quilt by Kate Peregrinate from the Spring 2013 Modern Patchwork Magazine.

BQuilt_BackI had a single orphan block that I centered in the back surrounded by solid gray to bring it to life and quilted it by following the seam lines. I basically outlined the seams leaving about 1/4″ of space between the quilt line and the pieced seam. It really shows off the pieced pattern in the back. I love the poppy binding. It is another Bella fabric and I love how it pulled the entire quilt together. I felt that the front was a bit light in the poppy, but the binding solved that issue!

Is there anything more stressful than washing a quilt for the first time? It was such a relief to pull it out of the dryer, intact and beautifully puckered.

BlancaLiz_quilt

Me and the Momma to be!

Tagged: , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “A Baby Quilt

  1. Hello MMXIV + a Giveaway! | andpins January 1, 2014 at 9:11 am Reply

    […] Hand Tied Quilt , 2. Somerset Star Pillow, 3.  A Baby Quilt, 4. Round and Round Wall Hanging, 5. Penguin, 6. Sunglasses […]

  2. t.e.d.d.y. October 23, 2013 at 2:31 am Reply

    Beautiful colours!

  3. alldeckedout October 22, 2013 at 10:28 am Reply

    It’s beautiful! So fresh! I like to wash baby quilt gifts too to make sure they are ready for use, but mostly to give them that puckery softness. Somehow it doesn’t have that snuggle-ability until it’s washed.

    • andpins October 22, 2013 at 10:45 am Reply

      I agree! I don’t feel like a quilt is officially finished until it has come out of the dryer.

Let me know what you think, I love hearing from my readers! I reply to all comments by email (except on popular giveaway posts).

