Bursting Lone Stars | Giveaway

One of the things that I love most about the quilting community is the openness and willingness to lend a hand or answer questions. In June I volunteered to test Melissa’s (of Sew Bittersweet Designs) new Bursting Lone Stars pattern before she released it. Well today we are celebrating her release day and I am excited to show off my version of her pattern!

BurstingLoneStar_Outside

I decided to play with solids again and used Modern Solids II, a beautiful cross woven fabric, for the stars and a lightweight chambray for the background. The pattern finishes at 50″ square.

Sadly, I have been struggling with how to quilt this top – which has involved way to much ripping out stitching – so it is currently basted and in progress. I hope to have a completely finished quilt to show off to you soon.

Today Melissa is releasing two new patterns: Flowering Lone Star and Bursting Lone Stars and she has graciously agreed to give away a pattern of your choice.

http://blog.sewbittersweetdesigns.com/  

Congratulations to Janie, who said that she would pick the Flowering Lone Star and use red and white fabrics! Janie, check your email.

Enter to win below using the Rafflecopter link below and the lucky winner will be able to pick their favorite pattern.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Entries will close at 11:59pm EST on Friday. I’ll announce the winner on Saturday afternoon. Good luck!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

29 thoughts on “Bursting Lone Stars | Giveaway

  1. Vicki H August 7, 2014 at 8:26 pm Reply

    I like the Flowering Lone Star. Yellow and grey.

  2. Helen August 7, 2014 at 8:11 pm Reply

    I would choose the Flowering Lone Star and dig into my stash of aquas, corals and white.

  3. Sarah J. August 7, 2014 at 6:50 pm Reply

    I have been itching to try a lonestar, but am intimidated! I love both, but think I would choose the flowering lonestar! Thanks for the chance to win!

  4. Nesta August 7, 2014 at 8:01 am Reply

    I love the Bursting Lone Stars! Your quilt is beautiful and I’m sure you’ll find the right solution for the quilting!

  5. Chris August 7, 2014 at 3:17 am Reply

    I like brights so I would put the stars in bright colors on a black background. Either pattern would be great but the Flowering Lone Star gives you a chance to highlight some fabrics.

  6. Lori Morton August 6, 2014 at 10:46 pm Reply

    Ooooh I love the Flowering Lone Star!!! Think I’d like to make it with “Sewing Box” fabrics with a solid light Turquoise for background,

  7. Debbie August 6, 2014 at 8:32 pm Reply

    I would choose the Flowering Lone Star.

  8. Sarah August 6, 2014 at 4:03 pm Reply

    I love the bursting lone star, and I would make it in brown, pinks, reds, and light blue. Thanks!

  9. mokki August 6, 2014 at 10:00 am Reply

    I think id like to have a go at the flowering lone star. I would probably choose a pale blue for the background and dusty pinks, greens and blues for the star.

  10. Janie August 5, 2014 at 8:00 pm Reply

    Flowering lone star. In Reds and Whites. Thanks.

  11. cdahlgren2013 August 5, 2014 at 6:22 pm Reply

    I love your quilt, it’s gorgeous. I think I would do a navy background, and use a rainbow of colors for the different “blades” of the star. I might even try grunge fabric, it looks really awesome. cdahlgren at live dot com

  12. danielstephanie1997 August 5, 2014 at 2:34 pm Reply

    I love them both, but flowering lone star would be the most fav. I am thinking aqua, browns, and oranges!

  13. LINDA August 5, 2014 at 12:56 pm Reply

    I love the Flowering Lone Star and I would use red+white.
    Thanks for sharing!

  14. Michele Timms August 5, 2014 at 12:03 pm Reply

    I like the single star pattern and would use green, white, and black… Hmmmm just like in the photo!!

  15. minibea12 August 5, 2014 at 2:58 am Reply

    I like the Flowering Lone Star. I’d use blues and yellow.

  16. barbara woods August 4, 2014 at 5:34 pm Reply

    i like the one star and would use reds and white

  17. Lori Smanski August 4, 2014 at 2:55 pm Reply

    I love the Flowering Lone Star. I love the colors you used on a grey background. They would be perfect for a great niece due in November. Thanks for a chance.

  18. Melissa Quinn August 4, 2014 at 1:21 pm Reply

    For the flowering lone star, I would do a rainbow ordering of colors: light on the inside and darker colors on the outside of the petals. Maybe make each petal scrappy. Love the dark background. For bursting lone stars, orange and aqua and lime green with the dark background. Absolutely beautiful patterns.

  19. Michele August 4, 2014 at 1:12 pm Reply

    I love your choice of solids, I imagine is shimmers in person. I have some gorgeous solids waiting in my stash for a pattern like this. Navy blue background would remind me of a night sky!

  20. Shauna August 4, 2014 at 1:02 pm Reply

    I think I would pick the Bursting Lone Stars

  21. buntyw August 4, 2014 at 1:00 pm Reply

    I would choose the Flowering Lone Star – how about a rainbow version ???

  22. Beth August 4, 2014 at 11:36 am Reply

    Lovely quilts – but sorry about the seam ripper use!

  23. Terri August 4, 2014 at 11:25 am Reply

    These are beautiful!

  24. quiltingjetgirl August 4, 2014 at 11:02 am Reply

    I would choose bursting lone stars for the pattern, and I would probably go with a dark blue background and yellow and orange stars. Yummy!

  25. quiltingjetgirl August 4, 2014 at 11:01 am Reply

    Love your colors and quilt top. So sorry to hear you have been struggling with the quilting.

  26. Melissa August 4, 2014 at 10:18 am Reply

    Thank you so much for testing Elizabeth! I just love your version and I’m so grateful for all the feedback that you provided me!

  27. Terry August 4, 2014 at 10:18 am Reply

    Love the colors you chose for your quilt! I’d choose the Flowering Lone Star and use Christmas fabrics. Thanks for the sweet giveaway 🙂

  28. sharon August 4, 2014 at 10:07 am Reply

    Your quilt is beautiful. I like the flowering lone star, In my mind is it easier just to make one star —you know fewer y seams??

  29. Ellee August 4, 2014 at 9:29 am Reply

    My pattern choice is Flowering Lone Star which I would make with batiks — cool colors for the background with warm colors for the star, or maybe vice versa.

Let me know what you think, I love hearing from my readers! I reply to all comments by email (except on popular giveaway posts).

