An Update of Sorts

As promised, a long overdue update. To start things off, I have two decent finishes to show you outside of anything associated with Mid-Atlantic MOD, which I will talk about soon. Outside of that, I have not done much sewing with the exception of monthly bee blocks.

If you are looking for my mustard and gray Wonky Runner and my giveaway, it’s here.

I participated in the Rainbow Mini Quilt Swap on Instagram which was hosted by the always wonderful Kate Basti. My partner loved vintage so I dug out my feedsacks and went to work on Carolyn Friedlander’s Outhouse blocks.

andpins_outhouseMini

I was the lucky recipient of this beautiful mini by Laura which is Jeli Quilts Tissue Box pattern.

I love it and am working on organizing my new studio so I can display it and the rest of my mini collection.

Another finish was a name tag for the Baltimore MQG name tag swap. I took a very traditional route and modeled mine off of a paper name tag. I even dusted off my embroidery skills that I almost never use!

andpins_nametag

Simple is better sometimes.

April though July was a little bit crazy around here. If you follow me on IG, some of this will be a recap.

We bought a house:

We own a house! #timmonsnewhome

A post shared by Elizabeth (@andpins) on

I went to Mid-Atlantic Mod. That warrants it’s own post, but here is a group shot of the Philly MQG people who attended. It was a great weekend catching up with friends and making new ones!

Our dog blew out her knee (while I was at MOD!) and had surgery (a week after we moved half of our belongings in to the new house):

Someone is finally snoozing after covered up her naked leg.

A post shared by Elizabeth (@andpins) on

We finished moving in and started to get settled.

A week after finishing up the move I ended up in the hospital with a hemorrhagic corpus luteum cyst that required surgery. Do me a favor and if you are ever unexplainably exhausted for over two weeks, go see a doctor! I was bleeding internally and did not know it until the mass got too big and I was in excruciating pain. I’m ok! I took three weeks to recover and spent the time napping, loving on the cats, catching up with my mom (who thankfully came to stay with us), and eventually felt well enough to sew up some bee blocks.

It is hard to believe that that was already 10 weeks ago! Since then I have been playing catch up both at work and at home. The dog and I are both back to 100%. Thank you for sticking around through my silence. I am back with a renewed energy and am very grateful for the life I have.

 

Tagged: , , ,

3 thoughts on “An Update of Sorts

  1. Nancy, Near Philadelphia August 13, 2015 at 2:33 pm Reply

    I am glad you are well again. And I love the outhouses. Rather unbelievably, I own that pattern, me, the supreme cat washer. Seeing yours makes me think I might actually make it!

  2. Carol August 12, 2015 at 3:06 pm Reply

    I would have just assumed I was tired from the move! Glad to hear you mended well.

  3. Yvonne @Quilting Jetgirl August 12, 2015 at 10:04 am Reply

    I am so glad you and your furry friend are both well and healed. I was definitely thinking of you with so much going on right after your move.

Let me know what you think, I love hearing from my readers! I reply to all comments by email (except on popular giveaway posts).

