January Bee Blocks

January is done! Did you blink and miss it like I feel I did? January was a busy month: new year’s, shipping my Schnitzel & Boo Mini, stalking the mailbox to see if mine has arrived (ps. it hasn’t), and turning 33. January also included some colorful, complicated feathers!

Janet from the Philly MQG selected feathers for her bee blocks. I was so nervous to cut into my pieced strips that I played with some paper first.

andpins_feathertesting

Cutting the paper first was a huge stress relief! I went on to successfully piece two feathers, a blue and an aqua one.

andpins_JanBeeBlocks_FeathersAqua

Janet provided us with the background and quill fabric with directions to make scrappy, monochromatic feathers. I dipped into my scrap bin and stash to make these two beauties.

andpins_JanBeeBlocks_FeathersBlueI think these blocks were more stressful than my string circle block last summer!

What are you up to, any complicated bee blocks in your life?

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “January Bee Blocks

  1. February Bee Blocks | andpins March 6, 2015 at 8:45 am Reply

    […] last month’s scary feathers, we had a lovely block for the Philly MQG. Cathy chose a Japanese X Block pattern from Making […]

  2. Jayne Willis February 7, 2015 at 9:36 am Reply

    The feathers are beautiful! I love making them! These are going to be gorgeous in a quilt!

  3. barbara woods February 6, 2015 at 11:58 am Reply

    WOW!

  4. quiltingjetgirl February 6, 2015 at 10:38 am Reply

    Your blocks looks so crisp and lovely! I braved applique for bee blocks in February and am pleased with the result. It is interesting to see myself being pushed out of my comfort zone by the bee and I am glad it is helping me try new things.

  5. Barb N February 6, 2015 at 8:27 am Reply

    Your feathers are fabulous! A person would never have known you were anxious about this project. Well done!

Let me know what you think, I love hearing from my readers! I reply to all comments by email (except on popular giveaway posts).

