Framed Color Hexis | A Schnitzel & Boo Mini

andpins_FramedColorHexis

Another mini has left the house and has landed safely in Virginia! This is the mini that I created for Ellen, my partner in the third round of the Schnitzel & Boo Mini Quilt Swap. I knew that Ellen liked Alison Glass and Aneela Hoey fabrics along with a variety of awesome quilters. The common thread among the quilter’s she loves are bold geometric patterns so the triangles were a perfect fit!

I used my Sizzix triangle die to create another Color Hexi quilt and framed it with gray Essex Linen. I used my new Bernina walking foot to trace each color hexagon and mirrored the overall shape of the hexagons in a radiating pattern until I hit the edges of the quilt. The binding was my effort to balance the visual weight of the black hexagon. Once I had the quilt completed, I felt like it was drawing way to much attention, so I countered it with a dark corner of binding. I am really happy with how it turned out.

andpins_FramedColorHexis_back

 

This was a hard one to put in the mail. Great news though, she loves it!

Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 9.06.24 PM

Quilt Details

Pattern: My own design using Sizzix Triangles, Isosceles and Right Die
Front: A variety of Alison Glass Sun Prints, Kona Solids, and other color + white prints from my stash
Back: A variety of Aneela Hoey prints, Alison Glass Sunprints, Kona Tomato, and Gray Widescreen
Binding: Netorious in Plummy and black Crosshatch
Quilting: Aurifil 50WT #2024 (white)
Finished Size: Approx 23″ x 20″

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Framed Color Hexis | A Schnitzel & Boo Mini

  1. Joanna January 28, 2015 at 8:58 pm Reply

    Great idea with the 2 colour binding! It really does help with the balance.

  2. Barb N January 28, 2015 at 7:35 pm Reply

    Very pretty, and I like the outline quilting, too!

  3. quiltingjetgirl January 28, 2015 at 9:56 am Reply

    The binding was a great design choice, and how awesome that your partner loves it! 🙂

  4. cleanlaundrybyelleng January 28, 2015 at 9:10 am Reply

    So smart – it does balance the black hexi! It went on the wall immediately and I love it. Thanks again!

Let me know what you think, I love hearing from my readers! I reply to all comments by email (except on popular giveaway posts).

