Goosey Mug Rug

The Baltimore MQG started 2015 with a fun wintery themed mug rug swap this past Sunday.  I was not sure if I was going to go so I did not settle on an idea or cut any fabric until Saturday morning. I roughly followed Stitchy Quilt Stuff’s tutorial to cut the geese parts because quilt math and Saturday morning do not mix!

My father in law and his wife came to visit Saturday afternoon so cutting was as far as I got. I spent the late afternoon and evening making hexis at the sports bar while my husband and visitors watched the football game.

Making hexis at the sports bar while husband and the in laws watch the Ravens game.

A post shared by Elizabeth (@andpins) on

andpins_BotanicsGeese_MugRug

I finished my mug rug just in time on Sunday with a variegated flock of blue Botanics, black Kona, Botanics Seagrape in Charcoal for the binding, and my trusty gray Widescreen as backing.

andpins_BotanicsGeese_MugRugback

I have been enjoying these little projects, first a scarf and now a simple mug rug, to get back into the swing of regular sewing. Stop by on Saturday for my first tutorial of 2015, I got to work with Sizzix and was able to create whatever I wanted!

Tagged: , ,

3 thoughts on “Goosey Mug Rug

  1. Judy January 15, 2015 at 5:44 am Reply

    Great mug rug, I’m a sucker for anything CF 🙂 and Widescreen is my absolute all time favorite backing. I have to ask, what pen are you using for your labeling? I have tried so many and have NEVER had one turn out as nicely as yours!

  2. quiltingjetgirl January 14, 2015 at 9:46 am Reply

    Your mug rug is really lovely. I especially like how it is a non-traditional shape – how fun! 🙂

  3. sharoneujones January 14, 2015 at 8:19 am Reply

    Glad to see someone else takes their hexies with them for extra stitching time! I am addicted to hexies! What are you making with your hexies? I see you use squares of fabric, please let me know your method.

Let me know what you think, I love hearing from my readers! I reply to all comments by email (except on popular giveaway posts).

