Whales!

Merry Christmas Eve to those of you who celebrate and happy Wednesday everyone else. Traditionally I use today to share my holiday cards for the year (2013, 2012), but this year they fell off of my radar. My cards are store bought and are still sitting upstairs, untouched. So instead of cards, I have something better to share, Whales and a baby!

andpins_WhalesinUse

If you follow my Instagram feed, you know that I was able to spend last weekend with my nephews and sister. We had a great time at the National Aquarium in Baltimore and visited some friends on the Eastern Shore of MD. It was an exhausting and awesome weekend!

Nephews are the best!

A post shared by Elizabeth (@andpins) on

I also got to give my youngest nephew his christmas gift, a quilt. His older brother, Zachary, was the lucky recipient of my first quilt for his first Christmas. As soon as I saw the Preppy the Whale pattern by Elizabeth Hartman, I knew I had found the pattern for James.

andpins_Whales

I used three shades of blue/teal of Timeless Treasures Rain fabric to create a diagonal gradient of blues along with a splash of yellow and orange in the same print for the whales. I also used the orange Rain for the binding.

Widescreen is my favorite! Last minute binding rush before guests arrive tomorrow. #justkeepswimming

A post shared by Elizabeth (@andpins) on

I am really happy with how this quilt turned out and I know that it will be used with love.

Quilt Details

Pattern: Preppy by Elizabeth Hartman
Front: Timeless Treasures Rain, Kona Black, and Quilter’s Linen in Platinum
Back: Widescreen in Pacific by Carolyn Friedlander
Binding: Timeless Treasures Rain in Orange
Quilting: Aurifil 40WT #2600 (a pale gray)
Finished size: approx. 47×50″

PS. My 100th post!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Whales!

  1. barbara woods December 27, 2014 at 10:10 pm Reply

    Beautiful baby and just the right quilt

  2. Sherry December 27, 2014 at 4:45 pm Reply

    I love the whale quilt and the way you used the three shades of blue. What a treasure. Congrats on 100 posts.

  3. Jeifner December 25, 2014 at 11:55 am Reply

    Merry Christmas and happy 100!

  4. quiltingjetgirl December 24, 2014 at 1:07 pm Reply

    100th post! Congratulations! The quilt and your nephews are adorable, and it is awesome to know that your quilt will be well loved and used. Merry Christmas!

Let me know what you think, I love hearing from my readers! I reply to all comments by email (except on popular giveaway posts).

