November’s Bee Blocks!

As we round into the Thanksgiving holiday I am reminded how thankful I am for my quilting friends who constantly make me think about color and push the limits of my comfort zone. Joining the Modern InstaBee was one of the best decisions I made this year, I have sewn curves, played with color, and generally paid closer attention to my sewing and I am now quicker to rip out a seam and try again. I am looking forward to seeing what the Philly MQG members throw my way!

November brings the ending of one bee and a beginning of another, the Modern InstaBee wraps up in December with my blocks (I cannot wait!) and I’m in the second month of the Philly MQG bee. Once again, I am ahead of the game and the blocks are already in their new homes.

andpins_NovInstabee

Cordelia’s Garden was the November block in for the Modern InstaBee. Miki, who happens to be a Philly MQG member, chose aqua, red, gray and white. She preferred solids, but prints were ok so I chose prints with subtle patterns for some dimension. I love the brightness and simplicity of the color palette, it lends itself beautifully for this block. You can see all of my InstaBee blocks here.

andpins_Churndash_PMQGnov

Wild churn dash blocks were up for the Philly Modern Quilt Guild bee for Nancy. She requested orange, yellow, or red with a black and white. These blocks were so much fun and quick to make. As you can see, I went a bit “wild” with my fabric choices and went with a play on grids for the blocks.

Have you participated in a quilting bee before? Do you have one lined up for 2015? I am looking for another year long project to keep my creativity flowing and my sewing machine running.

 

Tagged: , , , , , ,

One thought on “November’s Bee Blocks!

  1. barbara woods November 26, 2014 at 11:10 pm Reply

    Hope you have a great Thanksgiving

Let me know what you think, I love hearing from my readers! I reply to all comments by email (except on popular giveaway posts).

