Dahlia – Branching Out

If you asked me to describe myself, I would tell you that I am a quilter. Yes, I make a bag here and a scarf there, but quilting is my true love. I have always admired the sewists on Instagram that are making their own clothing, so I am taking the leap and trying my hand at Colette’s Dahlia dress.

I was super excited to see that Colette announced last week that they are launching an online digital magazine called Seamwork.

The idea is simple. Each month, we’ll bring you two downloadable patterns that are quick to make, useful, and truly fun. Plus, you’ll get in-depth articles that will help teach you new techniques, or just inspire you to try something new. – Seamwork

The best part about the magazine is that it will feature patterns that can be sewn up in about three hours, I love projects like that. I am hoping to expand my handmade wardrobe so I am looking forward to seeing what they publish. If you are interested, you can sign up for their behind the scenes preview here.

Back to Dahlia:

Dahlia_andpins

Dahlia has a gorgeous silhouette and the mid-length sleeve version will be perfect for the office. I selected this lovely Small Black Check from Jennifer Sampou’s Studio Stash Yarn Dyes 2014.

If this works out, I am eyeing the same print in red!

My goal is to have it finished by the Sunday after Thanksgiving, but hopefully before. What selfish sewing do you have planned this month?

 

Tagged: , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Dahlia – Branching Out

  1. vanesew November 21, 2014 at 9:06 am Reply

    I’ve never Tried a colette pattern… are they easy to make?

  2. Stephanie November 19, 2014 at 9:59 am Reply

    Ooooh! Garment sewing! How exciting ๐Ÿ™‚ I have only made a couple of small dresses for my daughter but I would love to make something for myself. I will be watching your progress!

  3. Jessie H November 14, 2014 at 12:43 am Reply

    Love that fabric! I’m planning to sew up the Dahlia too, can’t wait to see how yours turns out!

  4. barbara woods November 13, 2014 at 9:56 pm Reply

    Like that pattern, you will model want you?

  5. quiltingjetgirl November 13, 2014 at 10:41 am Reply

    I love the fabric you chose, and I look forward to seeing how it turns out for you!

Let me know what you think, I love hearing from my readers! I reply to all comments by email (except on popular giveaway posts).

