Optical Illusions

Welcome to the blog hop party for Optical Illusions Innovative Designs for the Modern Quilter! I was asked to participate by the lovely Tia Curtis who’s quilt Tropical Storm is one of nine fantastic quilt designs!

opticalillusions-cover1 copy

Tia’s was inspired by an illusion she found online but decided to simplify it so she would not have a headache the entire time she worked on it. The result is a gorgeous half square triangle quilt with a few fun pops of color.

CurtisI’m going to be a book nerd and gush about how lovely the cover of this book feels under the fingertips! It is made out of a beautiful matte cover stock and feels great in the hands.

Do yourself a favor and check out Tia’s site, I am in love with her quilting, this one is beautiful! If I ever get our bed quilt pieced, I think I am going to send it to Tia with very little directions. Tia has generously given me a Cotton + Steel fat quarter bundle to give away to one lucky reader to celebrate Optical Illusions release! Giveaway is now closed. Thank you to everyone who participated! I enjoyed reading your sources for inspiration.

Curtis_Cotton+SteelBundle

Thank you, Tia! I’m making it simple this time, no Rafflecopter to sign in to or anything else. Just leave me a comment telling me what has been inspiring you lately. The giveaway will be closing on Sunday, November 16th at 9pm EST and I’ll give Mr. Random the honor of picking the winner. I’m looking forward to being inspired by your inspiration.

Congratulations to the winner, Mary D. who said, “I have several pieces of fabric in stash and find now that I want to upgrade my stash with new prints and colors. I have been all over blog world looking for inspiration to use up my older stash. In the process more fabric pieces have found their way into my stash. Will there ever be enough time to pet, feel and use it all?” Mary, look for an email from me soon.

Check out the rest of the blog hop for chances to win some great giveaways!

Nov. 3
My Stars
Deb Rowden

Nov. 4
My Stars
Angela Walters

Nov. 5
My Stars
Penny Layman

Nov. 6
My Stars
Melissa Corry
Lily’s Quilts
Fat Quarter Shop

Nov. 7
My Stars on behalf of Mary Kay Fosnacht & Karen Hansen

Nov. 10
My Stars
Jamie David

Nov. 11
My Stars
Tia Curtis
Tammie Schaffer

Nov. 12
My Stars
Katie Larson

Nov. 13
My Stars
Jenifer Dick
Trisch Price

Nov. 14
My Stars
Jessica Toye
Jacquie Gering
Shea Henderson

Tagged: ,

78 thoughts on “Optical Illusions

  1. Lynn Wilson November 16, 2014 at 7:34 pm Reply

    Fabrics always inspire me. I look at a fabric line and an idea for a project just seems to grow from that.

  2. Nancy L November 16, 2014 at 2:18 pm Reply

    I’m inspired by the ideas people give me for quilts I make for them. Most recently a soccer quilt for a boy in Germany, with quilting to indicate it was made here in Texas.

  3. Wendy November 16, 2014 at 9:27 am Reply

    Having read Tracy Chevalier’s “Last Runaway” a signature quilt is rapidly becoming top of my list of projects to do.!!! Thank you.

  4. Mary November 16, 2014 at 8:49 am Reply

    I’m inspired by my stash and the people I make quilts for!

  5. Cheryl November 15, 2014 at 8:04 pm Reply

    I love sewing for kids in need and just the realization of how much I really have compared to them and that I am on the giving end inspires me to work all the harder to give to them.

  6. Karen November 15, 2014 at 7:08 pm Reply

    We had a big snowstorm here in Maine a couple weeks ago. With no power, the peace and quiet, the birch trees bent to the ground by heavy snow and trails in the snow, I was inspired to look around me with more attention and awe!

  7. carol n November 15, 2014 at 11:56 am Reply

    Just playing with my fabric stash always inspires me!

  8. Charlotte November 15, 2014 at 11:13 am Reply

    The sun coming up and chasing away the fog. As the fag lifts you can see a little bit more detail of the view.

  9. Emily C November 15, 2014 at 9:45 am Reply

    My husband is my inspiration. He always makes the perfect suggestion or points something out when I’m stuck.

  10. Chas November 15, 2014 at 9:43 am Reply

    I’m trying HSTs now, I think I have it down…

  11. Chris November 15, 2014 at 1:38 am Reply

    I have a long list of quilts I want to make. Who knows if they will ever get done.

  12. Kate Yates November 14, 2014 at 9:43 pm Reply

    I love her HST quilt, I’ve been inspired by all of the fall colors and projects I’ve been seeing online–It’s too hot here, but it’s nice to get a taste of fall by looking online–and checking out everyone else’s projects for the holidays.

  13. duchick November 14, 2014 at 9:41 pm Reply

    I’d say Nature has been the primary inspiration for me lately. The Midwestern autumn has been gorgeous this year and the colors are something I want to re-create in my projects.

  14. Sarah November 14, 2014 at 9:19 pm Reply

    Right now I a inspired by the colors outside, shown up against the sky!

  15. DebV November 14, 2014 at 9:09 pm Reply

    My inspiration lately is just to finish something! I have tops, but quilting is another story. I have to finish my daughter’s “outside the block” quilt. i think it is kinda modern with primary colors.

  16. Veronika November 14, 2014 at 8:00 pm Reply

    Definitely Instagram! Seeing what everyone makes is amazing – – and of course blogs too 🙂

  17. Becca November 14, 2014 at 5:26 pm Reply

    Sadly, I’m mostly inspired by pinterest…not very creative at all…

  18. Dawn Jones November 14, 2014 at 2:21 pm Reply

    The fall season has been an inspiration.

  19. Shannon November 14, 2014 at 2:11 pm Reply

    I’m so inspired by the holidays this year and all the great ideas on blogs!!

  20. mumbird3 November 14, 2014 at 1:33 pm Reply

    When I look at al the lovely blogs out there and see what people are making, I am constantly challenged to improve my work. I am always amazed at the creativity! mumbird3(at)gmail(dot)com

  21. Janie November 14, 2014 at 12:40 pm Reply

    Beautiful bundle. Thanks for the chance.

  22. Sherry VF November 14, 2014 at 12:36 pm Reply

    Truthfully, the Optical Illusions blog hop has been a nice change from all the Christmas DIY and quilt projects all over the internet. They make me feel unproductive. svonfumetti at yahoo dot com

  23. Linda Brown November 14, 2014 at 12:35 pm Reply

    My inspiration is the bright colors of fall

  24. WANDA OKEEFE November 14, 2014 at 12:16 pm Reply

    My dog, a happy older girl, a rescued Dalmation. She has such pretty markings and patterns all over!

  25. Jan c. November 14, 2014 at 11:37 am Reply

    Christmas sewing is what’s going on here! Little girl dress, little boy vests and ties. I guess the season inspires me to just get busy and sew.

  26. amy November 14, 2014 at 10:24 am Reply

    I’m inspired by some of the classes I’ve taken at my local quilt shop! I’m a beginner so learning new things encourages me to try different types of projects!

  27. nnonaihr November 14, 2014 at 10:09 am Reply

    My inspiration are magazines, and people’s outfits in the street 🙂 nnonaihr@hotmail.co.uk

  28. Karen Thurn November 13, 2014 at 4:18 pm Reply

    I’m inspired when I look for fabric online or in a shop. I’m also inspired as I’ve now retired early enough to have lots of time and energy to sew and quilt. kthurn@bektel.com

Let me know what you think, I love hearing from my readers! I reply to all comments by email (except on popular giveaway posts).

