WIP Wednesday: The Holiday Rush

Exciting things are happening around here! Last weekend was a big weekend for my Color Block Quilt, it was featured in a Craftsy blog post by Lindsay Conner. I am in great company and am thrilled that Lindsay asked if she could include my quilt in her post. Additionally, the past two weeks have brought awesome news to my inbox that means January is shaping up to be a very fun month around here.

After last year’s self imposed Christmas rush, I am giving myself a break and only making one quilt this year. I have a few other smaller handmade projects in mind, but I am not going to attempt to churn out three quilts (remember the Beast, Plus, and Cats?). It was not good for my sanity! I am in the middle of working on my single Christmas quilt so I cannot share too much, but here is a sneak peek of the color palette I am using.

TrianglesWIP_andpins

Color Block was the last quilt that I finished, a quilt with only 10 pieces so when I cut over 432 pieces for my next quilt this weekend my shoulders were not happy with me. I cannot wait to share this quilt with you in December. I only have 12 blocks pieced and I am already in love!

ProjectBags_andpins

Each of the 27 blocks has 16 pieces to keep organized so I resorted to labeled zip top bags to keep things straight. I have A-P for my left facing blocks and a matching set for my right facing blocks.

How do you keep yourself organized which large projects?

 

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: The Holiday Rush

  1. Jenn @ A Quarter Inch from the Edge November 7, 2014 at 11:58 am Reply

    I use a lot of Post it’s and painter’s tape (a new addition to my notions arsenal) to keep small bits organized. If it’s a project that goes on for an extended amount of time, I’ll usually devote a plastic bin with a lid to it (the ones I use are actually industrial fish packing bins…). The size is perfect for finished blocks!

  2. barbara woods November 5, 2014 at 11:20 am Reply

    Freezer bags for that and for scraps

  3. quiltingjetgirl November 5, 2014 at 11:17 am Reply

    Ziploc bags are the best for large project organization! It’s what I am using right now, too!

Let me know what you think, I love hearing from my readers! I reply to all comments by email (except on popular giveaway posts).

