The Shirt Off of My Back

Exciting things are happening around here this week! My first tutorial goes live on Saturday (eek!) with my stop on Jessica Levitt’s fabric release blog hop and today, just because it’s gloomy, I am doing a giveaway. I’d like to give you the shirt off of my back…well bench. I have been making Shirts for side swaps and this one is an orphan (and honestly, not my style) so I am hoping that one lovely reader will give it a new home. PezShirt_andpins

Congratulations Melissa Quinn! Look for an email from me shortly.

How do you enter? (Giveaway is now closed!) Just leave me a comment and tell me whether you love or hate Halloween. Do you go all out with decorations, costumes, parties, and giving candy to the kids or do you hide upstairs in a back room? In Philadelphia, we were in the hate it camp, but we may give it a shot in our new neighborhood. I’ll be closing the giveaway Friday night and Mr. Random will pick a winner for me. (If you are a no-reply blogger, please leave your email address so I can contact you if you are a winner!)

While you are checking out blogs, stop by my friend Carrie’s blog, Skyline Quilts, she is doing the Modern Instabee (Hive 15) and is doing some amazing things. Be sure to check back in on Saturday for my debut tutorial and my stop on Jessica Levitt’s Cascade Blog Hop. blog tour icon I was thrilled to be selected to work with Jessica’s new fabric and I cannot wait to share my project with you. The blog hop started on Monday and Windham Fabrics is giving away a fat quarter bundle at every stop. Check out Jessica’s blog for full details and the schedule.

Tagged: , , ,

10 thoughts on “The Shirt Off of My Back

  1. Susan October 16, 2014 at 9:59 am Reply

    I liked Halloween when I was a kid, but as an adult I don’t really care about it anymore. It seems Halloween has changed since I was a kid. Sometimes we stay home and give out candy, but more often than not we go away until treat or treat hours are officially over. I hat buying a bunch of candy that I may get stuck with depending on the number of TTs that come by. Some years it is a lot and some only a few.

    That is a cute shirt. Do you have a pattern for it?

  2. Joanna October 16, 2014 at 12:03 am Reply

    I hate Halloween. It was never a ‘thing’ when I was a kid and was just what American kids did on TV but it’s being pushed quite a lot now over the last few years. I think because it’s in so many TV shows and movies that it’s just another Americanisation “taking over” our own customs/identity — I know other countries do it as well, but I really think it being here in Australia is due to the TV/movie pop culture which stems from Hollywood and for no other reason. I find it creepy that parents send their kids door knocking to beg for food from neighbours/strangers (why not send them out at Christmas to beg for free toys and gifts then?!) and I think if kids want free lollies they can do some chores, earn pocket money and buy their own. And I never answer the door to kids tricking treating because as if I’m sharing my own chocolate and goodies with random people I don’t even know !!! I brely share with my husband lol. If I wanted to give out food for free, I’d donate it to shelters etc to people who actually need it!

    So, yep… hate it 😀

  3. Beth T. October 15, 2014 at 11:44 pm Reply

    I was never much for Halloween, though I did love having the neighborhood kids come over and show me their costumes. Now we live in the country, at the end of a long driveway, and we do not get a single trick-or-treater. Goodbye to any excuse for buying Halloween candy! Not one trick-or-treater in ten years.

  4. Jen Beatty October 15, 2014 at 6:03 pm Reply

    Honestly it’s my extended family’s favorite holiday! I have to admit, my Halloween stash is quite large and recently a fellow guild member gave me a big chuck of her Halloween stash as it’s not her favorite and she heard through the grapevine how much I love it. Quilting friends are the best!

  5. mkochan972 October 15, 2014 at 2:27 pm Reply

    I love Halloween until the trick or treaters come ;). My favorite thing about Halloween is looking at decorated houses

  6. Cathy October 15, 2014 at 10:17 am Reply

    I like Halloween but now that my kids are older it just is not as exciting as it used to be. I still however decorate with their school art work of long ago and I will always be a big fan of candy corn and hot apple cider! I am looking forward to seeing your post– the other ones have been great.

  7. Linda October 15, 2014 at 9:33 am Reply

    I would love to have this cute little shirt block! I am not a Halloween lover but I can’t really say I hate it either. I don’t get may trick or treaters and hardly ever get invited to a costume party and so the day pretty much goes by just like any other.

  8. Melissa Quinn October 15, 2014 at 9:31 am Reply

    I hate it. I will decorate for my kids and go trick or treating with them. But I am not a fan of the big kids coming to my door with scary costumes frightening my little ones (unintentionally always). I also hate the scary movies that pop up this time of year. And the awkward questions I get from my 4 year old that I am so unprepared to answer (like, what’s a mummy?).

  9. sfredett October 15, 2014 at 8:33 am Reply

    That’s a super cute shirt! I’m in the meh camp on Halloween. I don’t hate it, but I think its more fun when you’re a kid, or have kids — and I don’t have any. Also, we never get any trick or treaters, so its sometimes a let down. Maybe when we have a house and kids we’ll go more all out for it. 😀

  10. Beth October 15, 2014 at 8:04 am Reply

    I would love to give your little shirt a nice home! We live out in the country, so we don’t get any trick or treaters. But we do some “fall” decorating – so maybe that counts?

Let me know what you think, I love hearing from my readers! I reply to all comments by email (except on popular giveaway posts).

