Wanted: Sewing Mojo

I’ve lost my sewing mojo and motivation to do anything sewing related. I was super excited to move and get my sewing space set up and I actually did some quilting since we have moved in, but I haven’t done much in 10 days. I knocked out one WIP completely, which I cannot wait to share with you later this month! I went a bit adventurous on the quilting, at least for me anyway.

Happy to be quilting again! @leighlaurelstudios I'll have a photo to you this afternoon!

A post shared by Elizabeth (@andpins) on

I also quilted another WIP, it is currently sitting on my cutting table, waiting to be trimmedโ€ฆit has sat there for over a week. I just keep piling things on top of it.

I am hoping that by cleaning up my space, completely unpacking and organizing, and hanging some artwork will get my sewing mojo back. I have a stack of half finished shirts that I need to complete!

Tell me, what do you do when you hit a lull in your sewing mojo? Do you do something else creative to jump start it or work through it? Send help!

Tagged: ,

8 thoughts on “Wanted: Sewing Mojo

  1. skalabara September 16, 2014 at 4:38 pm Reply

    Sometimes we spend a lot of time behind the sewing machine and sometimes we need a sewing break. Don’t worry about this, get out and enjoy life! Barbora

  2. Jenn @ A Quarter Inch from the Edge September 12, 2014 at 10:03 pm Reply

    Perhaps it was all the busy-ness of moving that has sapped you of quilting mojo… I’m sure it will return in time. Don’t beat yourself up too much! I love the flying geese in a circle on your studio wall… it would fit in perfectly with my MQG’s banner. I think we used all the same colours!

  3. ann September 11, 2014 at 12:20 pm Reply

    Elizabeth—-I

  4. Miki Pacifico September 10, 2014 at 1:51 pm Reply

    So, I get the opposite of motivation to sew during the summer months. To the point where next year I plan on posting up a “closed for the season” sign on my blog I think. I find that when the weather gets cooler and I’m indoors more I am more inclined to sew. But one great way to kickstart my need to sew is to start a new project. I know… another WIP… but at least it breaks the seal…

  5. quiltingjetgirl September 10, 2014 at 10:45 am Reply

    I try to organize my things, and then I give in to the break and enjoy other things I love – reading, baths (!), and sometimes I find that I can pull out a sketch book or coloring book to re-energize my creative flow.

  6. Sami Casanova September 10, 2014 at 10:39 am Reply

    I often have no mojo for working at the machine (I sew in my dining room, so I have to clear everything out of there before I sew and put it back after – huge pain!) but I have several long-term hand sewing WIPs that I am always happy to work on when I have no machine mojo.

  7. Joanna September 10, 2014 at 10:10 am Reply

    I go through this often. It’s annoying because when I HAVE the time i don’t want to, but whenever I don’t have the time, all i want to do is sew! Sometimes I find starting a new project helps (even though I want to stop starting new things until I’ve finished old things!) because the reason my mojo is gone is because the things I’m working on are just not the things I want to work on. Sometimes cleaning up and reorganising, or even moving the furniture around so it’s a fresh space can help as well. Or there’s always just shopping for my fabric lol ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. Michele September 10, 2014 at 8:38 am Reply

    For me, a ten day pause isn’t necessarily long, since other things get in the way of sewing… From the photo of your machine, you new space looks great to work in! I’m sure you’ll be happier when everything’s unpacked and you’re settled in.

Let me know what you think, I love hearing from my readers! I reply to all comments by email (except on popular giveaway posts).

