Color Block Quilt

It is baby season around here! My nephew was born two weeks ago and I have two friends that are due this month. Needless to say, baby gifts have been on the top of my to do list.

BlockQuiltFrontThis quilt is for a surprise gender baby so I had to keep the colors neutral. I do not like using pastels or traditional “baby” colors in my quilts, so this one is a bold teal and orange with a Lizzy House mouse print to keep it fun. Who could resist mice on bikes, holding flowers, and the three blind mice?

I decided to step out of my quilting comfort zone, just a little step, and quilted this with a directional point to add a bit more movement to the quilt. I found the center point and sketched the first two lines top corner to center and bottom corner to center and worked out from those points.

BlockQuiltBack

On another note, today is the third round of the New Quilt Bloggers Blog Hop hosted by Beth of Plum and June. Please be sure to check out the amazing quilter’s that are participating today:

Janet @ Simply Pieced
If you missed the first two rounds, you can see the participants here.
5129e-2014button3

Quilt Details:

Title: Color Block
Pattern: My own
Front: Mousy Mouse from Catnap by Lizzy House, teal Garden Pindot from Michael Miller, Orange Grid and Teal Grid from Citrus by Another Point of View.
Back: Platinum Quilter’s Linen, Robert Kaufman
Binding: Teal Garden Pindot
Quilting: Aurifil 40WT #2600 (a pale gray)
Finished size: approx. 30×40″

 

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Color Block Quilt

  1. Christine Sherman July 23, 2014 at 8:07 pm Reply

    What a great design and love the quilting!

  2. Rachel @ Quiltineering July 10, 2014 at 12:27 am Reply

    Cute quilt!! I love how it doesn’t strike me as a “baby quilt” at first until you see the fun print. Loving it!

  3. Jessica Weleski July 9, 2014 at 10:34 pm Reply

    I love how you made this gender neutral without resorting to the typical green and yellow. This is so fun and modern looking; I love quilts that can grow with the baby and this one definitely can do that.

  4. quiltingjetgirl July 9, 2014 at 12:19 pm Reply

    I like the way the mouse print keeps it really fun and the color theme is very modern and grown up. I think the quilting looks great and yay for stepping outside of your comfort zone for something a bit different!

Let me know what you think, I love hearing from my readers! I reply to all comments by email (except on popular giveaway posts).

