Plus no. 3

Knowing that I have a ton of WIPs in various stages of completion makes me very grateful that I can share a finish with you today! Plus no. 3 is a grayscale study with a fun blue binding.

(No you did not miss Plus no. 2, it is in the WIP pile! One can be seen here.)

PlusNo3

I set out to make a masculine quilt, which is why I ended up with a grayscale study. The color palette is fitting for the recipient, my boss who is a photographer. He has been ill for some time now and I wanted to provide him with something from home. I love doing the Plus quilts because they are simple and show off the fabric. There are endless possibilities on how you can transform the pattern into something beautiful.

PlusNo3_Back

To offset the gray, I added a bright blue binding which plays nice with both the front and the black Widescreen on the back.

 

Quilt Details

Pattern: My own Plus design.
Front: Kona gray solids: black, charcoal, slate, graphite, iron, and silver, Bella white and four prints: a black & white chevron, Metro Circles, and two unknowns from my stash.
Back: Widescreen in black by Carolyn Friedlander
Binding: Fishnet in Cobalt for Michael Miller
Quilting: Aurifil 40WT #2600 (a pale gray)
Finished size: approx. 45×54″

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Plus no. 3

  1. Nancy, Near Philadelphia May 15, 2014 at 10:20 am Reply

    I like it a LOT, Elizabeth. The blue is terrific.

  2. Joanna May 14, 2014 at 11:35 pm Reply

    Love the blue binding! I really like the backing fabric you chose too. It’s a perfect masculine quilt.

  3. quiltingjetgirl May 14, 2014 at 10:20 am Reply

    Congratulations on the finish! I agree; the pop of blue from the binding is really nice. Your boss is super lucky to get such a lovely gift.

Let me know what you think, I love hearing from my readers! I reply to all comments by email (except on popular giveaway posts).

