SHIRTS!

I can check “learn how to paper piece” off of my to-do list and I LOVE it!

Paper piecing was one of my goals for 2014 along with another that we will not mention since I have failed spectacularly.  When I saw that Lee Monroe of May Chappell was hosting an All Shirts Swap using the Carolyn Friedlander Shirts pattern which was paper pieced, I decided right then that it was time to step up to the plate. I struggled with the first few shirts and they took forever to do (over an hour easily) but I kept at it because I love the crisp, sharp lines that paper piecing produces plus I was making tiny shirts. All in all I ended up making 18 shirts (they do not take as long now), sending 10 to Lee, three to Alaska as a side swap and hanging on to the five that I could not bare to part with.

On a sidenote, I did not realize that this pattern was considered tiny. I just assumed that all paper piecing projects were this small. The blocks will finish at 5 1/2″ square.

1391048772.349684.43

iPhone | Instagram

Here is my set of 18:

ETimmons_AllMyShirts_web

And here are the 13 that I received from the All Shirts Swap and my Alaska side swap:

ETimmons_Shirts_AllReceived_web

I am super excited that I received such a great assortment of shirts. The makers had a great eye for color and pattern. I received the green on green shirt from Carolyn Friedlander and the anchor shirt from Lee Monroe! I had originally thought that I was going to do a small wall hanging, but that changed with the announcement of All Shirts Swap 2.0. Now I am not sure how they will end up.

There was such a great response to the swap that Lee is hosting Round 2! I jumped on board again and I cannot wait to start making more shirts. Have you thought about paper piecing? Have you thought about joining the All Shirts Swap? Do it!! The deadline for mailing is in far away June so you have plenty of time! Warning: they are highly addictive!

Tagged: , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “SHIRTS!

  1. MMXV + a Thank YOU giveaway | andpins December 31, 2014 at 4:15 pm Reply

    […] in that aspect. While I never did get our bed quilt made I did get a few minis done, I learned to paper piece (and love it!), and completed a bunch more projects – 25 if my count is correct! I also […]

  2. Blocks & Swaps | andpins December 19, 2014 at 7:58 am Reply

    […] paper piecing fire with an Outhouse block by Carolyn Friedlander. I got Bobbi hooked on the shirts and I am secretly hoping that she gets hooked on the outhouses as well! I’d love to do […]

  3. The Shirt Off of My Back | andpins October 15, 2014 at 7:56 am Reply

    […] a giveaway. I’d like to give you the shirt off of my back…well bench. I have been making Shirts for side swaps and this one is an orphan (and honestly, not my style) so I am hoping that one […]

  4. Wanted: Sewing Mojo | andpins September 10, 2014 at 7:38 am Reply

    […] organizing, and hanging some artwork will get my sewing mojo back. I have a stack of half finished shirts that I need to […]

  5. A Couple of Things | andpins August 20, 2014 at 8:08 am Reply

    […] have also been back on the SHIRTS! train, I missed out on round two this time but I have been swapping with a few people. Here are four that […]

  6. My Name in Print! | andpins June 18, 2014 at 8:58 am Reply

    […] to her article in March, I could not say yes fast enough. At the time I had just wrapped up my Shirts blocks for the SHIRTS! Swap and was working on my April Modern InstaBee Block so it was perfect […]

  7. Granny Maud's Girl May 29, 2014 at 7:21 am Reply

    I was so fascinated and tempted by that swap. It looks like fun and produces gorgeous results.
    I am glad you are a convert to paper piecing.

  8. Christine Sherman April 20, 2014 at 1:02 pm Reply

    Great job for beginning! This is also on my to learn list. I have a bit easier looking pattern I will try first!

  9. Becky April 12, 2014 at 7:17 am Reply

    They look great. I can see there are lots of things you could do with them. Well done for learning a new skill. Paper piecing is something I’ve wanted to learn for a while, just didn’t know where to start.

  10. May Chappell April 10, 2014 at 11:03 am Reply

    These look so great! I can’t believe you just learned to paper piece!! Round 2 will be epic:)

Let me know what you think, I love hearing from my readers! I reply to all comments by email (except on popular giveaway posts).

