WIP Wednesday

photo

My calendar shows that I had grand plans for this week’s post, but it got derailed with some bad news on Saturday. It’s with a heavy heart that I say that the patriarch of my father’s family passed early Saturday morning. I am so thankful that I was able to see my granddad in January when I traveled to Zion for my grandmother’s 90th birthday. When I asked what color quilt he wanted, he quickly replied “green and gold”. I am heartbroken that he will never see his quilt, but this week I’ll be “Army Strong”.

I started his quilt Monday night, green and gold as requested. The quilt will be full of paper pieced bordered stars. The pattern is from The Quilting Climber.

Tagged: , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday

  1. LauraC March 31, 2014 at 8:20 pm Reply

    So sorry for your loss.

  2. MOD Prep! | andpins March 30, 2014 at 4:21 pm Reply

    […] Paper pieced stars for my granddad’s quilt […]

  3. quiltykanuck March 19, 2014 at 1:11 pm Reply

    I’m so sorry for your loss. I’m sure no matter where he is, he will love all the work you are putting into honoring him. The block is beautiful!

  4. Melissa Quinn March 19, 2014 at 9:23 am Reply

    So sorry for your loss.

Let me know what you think, I love hearing from my readers! I reply to all comments by email (except on popular giveaway posts).

