Charley Harper!

My life is complete, Charley Harper’s work is on fabric! I have been a huge fan of Harper’s illustrations since I discovered his work in college. His simplification of form and use of color is inspiring.

2013-11-22 14.00.07

iPhone

My Aunt is a fan of Harper as well and when I found out that the fabric was being released, I immediately called her to share my excitement. I volunteered to make her a quilt if she wanted to purchase fabric, a quilt she is still waiting for…it’s on my list, I promise! She ordered fabric for her quilt and she surprised me with an early Christmas present, a full set of fat quarters! I have been hoarding it, admiring it, and debating on what I am going to use it for.

While I still have not decided what their final use will be, I broke into a few small pieces of them for a mug rug. One of my fellow co-workers has a birthday a week before mine in January and she happens to love Harper!

Harper_MugRug

I love that I keep meeting people that love his work as much as I do. Tell me, are you a fan of Harper’s work? If so, what would you use the fabric for?

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Charley Harper!

  1. MMXV + a Thank YOU giveaway | andpins December 31, 2014 at 4:15 pm Reply

    […] and life continued so not much got done. I am starting this year with a much smaller list: a Charley Harper quilt for my aunt (two years overdue), a Christmas colored Hazel quilt for us, two swap minis, and […]

  2. wombatquilts February 26, 2014 at 11:00 am Reply

    I have some of the cardinal print and I am too afraid to cut into it. I have a couple of his books of illustrations and can not wait to see more of his work on fabric.

  3. Kristin S. February 26, 2014 at 9:58 am Reply

    Love Charlie Harper! The panel with the squirrel feeder has been calling out to me. I think I’d make it the focus of a quilt because it has such a dynamic color palette. Probably I’d use shapes harper does for other blocks in solids like the drunkards’ path circles, sawtooth edges of Half-Square-Triangles…

  4. Linda Dreier February 26, 2014 at 9:00 am Reply

    Love Charlie Harper’s images. I have some old cross stitch charts with his work. I think I need to do some redecorating and incorporate a new quilt.

Let me know what you think, I love hearing from my readers! I reply to all comments by email (except on popular giveaway posts).

