Plus

PLUSfront_edit

Plus is the last of my 2013 Christmas gifts. It’s a great cheater quilt that looks like a lot of 4.5″ squares, but in reality it is a bunch of squares and rectangles quilted to look like squares – so much easier than individual squares! It was completed in November with the binding going on the Friday after Thanksgiving. Inspired by two low volume bundles that I purchased from Stash Fabrics during their IG destash event, I pulled the fabrics that best reminded me of my best friend. I added some green Sketch fabric and I think it really came together nicely. It is quilted in bright yellow thread and bound with Korkek in Dandelion by Lotta Jansdotter. It finished at 45″ square.

This quilt was a joint effort between me and my husband. You see, I had a small spool of the perfect color yellow thread for quilting and never having quilted with a small spool before, I ran out with only five more lines to stitch! I frantically texted my husband, who was away on a business trip, my plea for him to pick up another spool. He bravely walked into a quilt store armed with a text and some photos and saved the day! Never again will I quilt anything only armed with a small spool of thread.

PLUSback_edit

The back is a crazy, vibrant fabric that I picked up at my LQS that matched my color palette perfectly! The quilt pattern is from The Daily Stitch by Kelly of Jeli Quilts. I left off the bottom and top sashing because I like the look of the quilt square.

Photographs by the lovely Kassena Hillman. Her photographs make me wish (almost) that I had a backyard to photograph my quilts in. If you are in the Corvallis/Portland, OR area you should check her out. Thank you Kassena!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Plus

  1. WIP Wednesday: The Holiday Rush | andpins November 5, 2014 at 8:18 am Reply

    […] projects in mind, but I am not going to attempt to churn out three quilts (remember the Beast, Plus, and Cats?). It was not good for my sanity! I am in the middle of working on my single Christmas […]

  2. Plus no. 3 | andpins May 14, 2014 at 8:26 am Reply

    […] (No you did not miss Plus no. 2, it is in the WIP pile! One can be seen here.) […]

  3. ann February 1, 2014 at 11:15 am Reply

    Liz, I really enjoy these creations and comments,    

  4. Carrie Maria January 28, 2014 at 9:37 am Reply

    Sweet! Love it. I’m looking for a simple pattern for my next quilt. 😉

Let me know what you think, I love hearing from my readers! I reply to all comments by email (except on popular giveaway posts).

