Round and Round

My first Christmas gift has been delivered and I can finally begin to share some of the projects that I have been diligently working on since October!

First up, a Round and Round block made from feed sacks and cream colored cotton. This wall hanging is for my MIL and her husband and most of the feed sacks were from her grandmother. I was happy that I was able to find a pattern that showed them off with a lot of visual interest.

RoundRoundFront

I had a hard time figuring out how I was going to quilt this piece. I quilted with amazing white, Aurifil thread following the diagonals of the blocks, forming a grid, leaving a negative space in the center. The center felt empty, so I stitched a Round and Round block to give it some life.

RoundRoundBackSo far, this has been the most complicated quilting pattern that I have done. I learned so much doing this little 24×24″ quilt! The Thimble Blossoms’ Round and Round pattern by Camille Roskelley is super easy to follow (check out this mind-blowing HST method) and I really love the way that the feed sacks stand out against the cream. A larger quilt is already on my 2014 quilt to-do list!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Round and Round

  1. Half Square Triangles | andpins March 12, 2014 at 8:01 am Reply

    […] have done HST in the past, for the round and round quilt, but I was following a pattern and wasn’t exposed to the endless […]

  2. Hello MMXIV + a Giveaway! | andpins January 1, 2014 at 9:11 am Reply

    […] Hand Tied Quilt , 2. Somerset Star Pillow, 3.  A Baby Quilt, 4. Round and Round Wall Hanging, 5. Penguin, 6. Sunglasses […]

Let me know what you think, I love hearing from my readers! I reply to all comments by email (except on popular giveaway posts).

