Somerset Star Pillow

What begins with a lot of cutting, folding, and ironing of fabric turns into something beautiful and a serious loathing of the iron for a few weeks afterwards? A somerset star. I needed a great gift for my mom for mother’s day and this particular pin had caught my eye so I decided to go for it. Ninety two 1.5 x 2.5″ folded rectangles later this is what I had:

Pillow_grp

I inset the star into a piece of fabric to make a quilted pillow following these instructions. This was by far the most complex project that I have done so far, it was the first time I had inset a circle, quilted on the round and installed a zipper. I am really happy with how it turned out and I have points ready and waiting for me to come back and assemble a few more.

A few in progress photographs of the cutting, folding, and actual stitching of the star.

iPhone | Instagram

iPhone | Instagram

Tagged: , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Somerset Star Pillow

  1. Hello MMXIV + a Giveaway! | andpins January 1, 2014 at 9:10 am Reply

    […] Hand Tied Quilt , 2. Somerset Star Pillow, 3.  A Baby Quilt, 4. Round and Round Wall Hanging, 5. Penguin, 6. Sunglasses […]

  2. colleenmolen July 31, 2013 at 10:15 am Reply

    The pillow looks great! Your circle is flawless. Glad my tutorial helped you!

    • andpins July 31, 2013 at 10:40 am Reply

      Colleen – Yes! It was super easy to follow and even though I struggled a bit I got it done. Thank you!

      Your quilts are gorgeous btw!

Let me know what you think, I love hearing from my readers! I reply to all comments by email (except on popular giveaway posts).

