A Penguin

What do you get a one year old for his birthday? The obvious answer would be to go purchase a large $3 ball from Target since that was the hit of the party, but I opted to make a penguin, a handsome penguin if I do say so myself.

Penguin_Close

The pattern is from The Purl Bee as was the chest fabric (Moda Chicken Wire).  The chevron (Mama Said Sew Chevron) and dot wing fabric I had on hand. The back body fabric was part of a sheet set that I purchased for the quilt that I am currently working on. He stands about 10 inches tall and went together very easily. I originally had his wings sewn on too tight so they stood out too much (penguins do not fly after all), but removing them and sewing them on a bit looser solved that problem.

Penguin_full

I am hoping that this penguin becomes an heirloom and sticks around for a while.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “A Penguin

  1. “Z” Drawstring Backpack | andpins March 5, 2014 at 8:06 am Reply

    […] Past gifts: Bird Mobile, Grab Balls and Beach Balls, Quilt (my first!), and Mr. Penguin […]

  2. Hello MMXIV + a Giveaway! | andpins January 1, 2014 at 9:11 am Reply

    […] Hand Tied Quilt , 2. Somerset Star Pillow, 3.  A Baby Quilt, 4. Round and Round Wall Hanging, 5. Penguin, 6. Sunglasses […]

Let me know what you think, I love hearing from my readers! I reply to all comments by email (except on popular giveaway posts).

