Bird Mobile

Fabric bird mobile on real branches for my nephew!  The hardest part was deciding on the color combinations (well that and assembling the actual mobile).
BirdMobile_web_update
When my sister told me she was pregnant, I knew I wanted to make something.  I was going to make a quilt, but knowing her tastes, I ran some patterns by her…boy do we have different ideas of what we like!  So I branched out and decided on a mobile.  I found the bird pattern from Spool Sewing and got to work finding fabrics for her requested color scheme.
The birds themselves go together easily.  I weighted their tails with a teeny bit of rice so they would balance on the branches at the point I wanted them to.  Attaching them to the branches and getting the branches to sit just so was the difficult part.  I actually had a fourth branch for the mobile, but the branch kept rolling so the birds were upside down.  Dead birds were not the look I was going for so needless to say, that branch was abandoned and I am still completely happy with how it turned out.
Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “Bird Mobile

  1. “Z” Drawstring Backpack | andpins March 5, 2014 at 8:06 am Reply

    […] gifts: Bird Mobile, Grab Balls and Beach Balls, Quilt (my first!), and Mr. […]

  2. Fabric Grab and Beach Balls « andpins December 12, 2012 at 8:38 am Reply

    […] addition to the bird mobile that I made for my nephew, I made him some toys as well.  I used some of the fabric that I used […]

Let me know what you think, I love hearing from my readers! I reply to all comments by email (except on popular giveaway posts).

